Episode 4: How to be Awesome at Life

We have been sitting on this episode, waiting to release it when you all had your love goggles on and would forgive us for being dry and humourless once in a while (YOU try being awesome ALL of the time!). Unfortunately, Sondra went and got herself sick, so we are forced to release this episode, which, quite frankly, Sondra had never intended to see the light of day. Try as she might, she could not “fix it in post” and so we will understand if you don’t make it through the whole thing.

Please listen to us on iTunes and subscribe! If you don’t like iTunes or don’t want to download it you can stream this episode on Podbean.

It isn’t terribly entertaining, but we are extremely informative. We talk about being awesome at life. What does this mean? Figuring out what you want to do with your life and how to get there, including career assessments, job hunting and planning out your ideal future.

We do share a laughing fit later in the episode….so it isn’t all serious.

Next week will totally make up for this lame episode…we promise! We are going to be talking all about being awesome at being single, which is a pretty good time to figure your life out.

Figuring it all out:

Myers Briggs: The Test and Know Yourself: JobFutures

Our results:

Myers Briggs:  Kim – ISTJ Sondra – ENFJ

Job Futures:  Kim & Sondra are both Information Junkies

Sondra’s “Rules of Advice”:
#1 – Get yourself out there
#2 – Do your research
#3 – Don’t jump into an empty pool

If you want to support Sondra in the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay For Life (which is June 11th, not the 9th) you can do so by going to THIS LINK

Thank you for listening!

This entry was posted in Jobs?, Podcast Notice!, Self Help, The Future?. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Episode 4: How to be Awesome at Life

  1. I can definitely see the fit for the Myers Briggs results.

    Question: when personality type indicators reveal an explanation for some less than awesome personality quirks, how do you go about working on them, or do you let them slide?

    This is a question that’s come up a lot in conversations over the last few months with some friends and I’d be curious to get your thoughts.

    • Sondra says:

      That’s a great question!! I think it’s ultimately up to the individual. As humans, we are all entitled to our personality flaws. One might argue that it is our flaws that make us human. However, as humans we also have been bestowed with the ability to choose, learn and grow. I am more inclined to work on my own less flattering personality quirks, when I become aware of them. Whether I am ever able to “fix” them depends on the quirk I suppose. One person’s flaw may be another person’s reason for loving them. It’s all so subjective. Of course, when we are talking about more taboo personality flaws, like being a racist or a blood-thirsty sociopath, then perhaps a little work may be in order, for the greater good.

      Thank you for your awesome inquiry and for getting my brain juices flowing!

  2. Danica says:

    Let me start off by saying that I’m glad this episode saw “the light of day”. You don’t know how informative this was for me. I’m 25, single(and loving it), and figuring out what I want to do with my life. I took the Myers Briggs test and got ISFJ.
    http://www.personalitypage.com/html/ISFJ.html

    This description is me. I laughed at how it mentioned ISFJ’s would make good interior decorators, because that is something I’m interested in. Also would love to pursue professional organizing, because strangely enough, doing stuff like that makes me happy. I’m currently trying to find the right road to go down to get there.

    I discovered your show yesterday and am almost caught up with all of your episodes. I’m happy I was drawn in by the title, but there is so much more you gals have to offer. Thank you for continually being fabulous, and of course, awesome.

    Best,

    Danica

    • craftedKim says:

      Hello Danica,

      Thank you for your comment! I am so glad that our show is helping you. I think it was timely that right around the time we recorded the podcast I was doing the same test at school, and it help to confirm that I was on the right path. I think it is great that you are taking the time to figure out what you want to do with your life, because the more you are able to figure out now the easier everything will be once you have decided upon your path!

      Also, kudos for being single and loving it! It is always wonderful to hear the positive sides of being in a relationship or not!

      And we love being awesome, and absolutely we will try to keep it up 🙂

      Kim (&Sondra)

      • Danica says:

        Hi Kim(& Sondra),

        Thanks for your quick response. Another good thing about being single is having time to figure yourself out, which I think you mentioned on your two parter. I lost a lot of myself in my last relationship, and I really have no interest in finding a man any time soon. In fact, I’ve decided that for the next couple years, I’m allowing myself to be selfish. Yep, selfish. Not the bad connotation, but letting myself have the first choice and not be affected by others’ opinions.

        Danica

      • craftedKim says:

        Hi Danica,

        No problem! I live on my computer 🙂 I totally agree with having time to figure yourself out. I know we discussed it in the two part ep, but it is true, both Sondra and I have taken time to ourselves, and I think it helped. I would say don’t put yourself on a timeline, any time you do that there is stress, one way or the other. If you find someone before your next couple of years is up it could be because you are ready. It is amazing what life will do when you least expect it 🙂

        Kim

  3. Danica says:

    Absolutely, there’s no timeline here. I’m a planner, so it’s bugging me a bit, but I’ve carved out a tiny bit of a plan. At least, there’s a small resemblance to a plan. I’m planning to move across the country in September, and see if life has anything for me out there. We shall see, but at least I know I can do it without leaving anyone. Well, friends and parents, but that’s what Skype, Facebook, Twitter and email are for. I’m lucky enough to have a friend living out there right now that I can stay with until I get on my feet.

    Danica

    • craftedKim says:

      I think having a friend with you when you move will be a great help. My family lives in a different city, but not all the way across the country, well my brother is in another country right now but he will be back in a few months. It is strange how your relationships will change, but not necessarily in a bad way, once you move away. Which part of the country are you moving to?

      Kim

      • Danica says:

        I currently live in Edmonton, but I’ll be moving to Halifax. I lived in Vancouver last year with my (now) ex-bf and moved back home in December. I’ve been looking for work ever since, and have felt quite lost at times. I feel as if I’m not attached to anything here, and have decided to take the leap, so to speak.

        Danica

      • craftedKim says:

        You will LOVE Halifax. It is a gorgeous city with some of the nicest people on earth. I think you will do well there!

        GL
        Kim

Leave a Reply

